GabrialGrewOnUp

Happieness is a choice

The not so secret life of teenagers having sex. March 17, 2011

Filed under: So you could say... — GabrialGrewOnUp @ 12:34 am

I used to really like the tv show “The Secret Life of the American Teenager” but I hadn’t watched it in a long time because it had been on hiatus so I watched an episode tonight…. I have no idea what I was thinking. Just sitting there tonight and watching this episode was almost painful. The somewhat awkward actors – which used to a be a charming quality – are just plan awkward to the point were every scene, even the normal ones between friends I was cringing. But that’s not really what I wanted to write this post about. No the real reason I’m writing about a television show is because although it’s called “The Secret Life of the American Teenager” the only thing the show ever seems to cover is sex, teen pregnancy and relationships.

Now as angst filled every teenagers life happens to be we do have other problems. I find that’s one of the newer things that bothers me about the show. Everyone lives in these perfect little worlds were there only problem is teen pregnancy. Sure they’ve had the gay kids on the show and the struggles that we know they go through, the good and the bad things that happen. But where’s more of the realistic stuff, where’s the alcohol and prescription drug abuse. Where’s the depressed kid, or the self mutilater. I know it’s an uncheery thing to be bringing up especially for a tv show but I mean as teenagers we do more than just have sex and talk about our current boyfriend and girlfriend. I mean, we’re real people. There’s more going on in the world.

 

One Response to “The not so secret life of teenagers having sex.”

  1. i TOTALLY agreee!
    i also used to love that show, nut all it is about is sex and pregnancy.
    Like a little far fetched not ALL of those girls who all know each other get pregnant.
    It is also really unrealistic, if a girl gets pregnant when she’s 15 MOST of the parents are not going to react like that.


Leave a Reply

